

admin@act.ipaa.org.au www.act.ipaa.org.au

## KFRRY KFNNFDY AWARD

The Kerry Kennedy Award was introduced in 2019 to commemorate the outstanding contributions of Kerry Kennedy to IPAA's Awards program. Kerry was an original assessor for the Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management in 2002 before becoming actively involved in the running of the Awards as the Awards Coordinator and Chair of the Awards Steering Committee.

Kerry was passionate about the profession of public administration, committed to driving excellence in the Australian public sector and in helping teams to improve and sustain their success so that they delivered excellent service to the Australian public. His favourite nominations were those from small organisations who had rolled out big initiatives. Often, they did not quite meet all the Awards criteria in the depth required to make it through the assessment process, but it was their ambition and success that enthused him.

The Kerry Kennedy Award will broadly recognise nominations based on three criteria:

1. Organisation size – a small organisation or agency (both in size and in operating budget) that has fewer resources to call upon when striving for excellence, meaning they need to 'think outside the box' to source for solutions and stretch every dollar to the limit.

2. Collaboration and Co-Design – nominations such as these often achieve their excellence through working cleverly with other agencies, often in other jurisdictions and sometimes also with the corporate and not-for-profit sectors. There is likely some element of co-design with the recipients of the service or project.

3. Maturity – these projects are sometimes at an earlier stage and may therefore be worthy of recognition now. Nominations are often entered too early and are not re-submitted in future years, presumably because the opportunity cost of preparing a nomination can be quite high for a small organisation.

The inaugural winner for this award in 2019 was the Tasmanian Department of Premier and Cabinet for their Electric Vehicle Working Group initiative to support the uptake of electric vehicles through a coordinated partnership approach, including and delivering a state-wide charging network.

